Incorrect Duchess of Malfi quotes; Part three

snapz-pro-xscreensnapz001

A little negotiation in the 1972 film. No copyright infringement intended. Origional source http://screenplaystv.wordpress.com/2012/03/28/stage-2-the-duchess-of-malfi-bbc-1972/

The incorrect quote series continues. None of this material is mine. For sources, see the tags.

Needless to say, do NOT use any of this as essay material.

***
Cardinal: Ferdinand, what is wrong with you?
Ferdinand: Well, I kill people and eat hands. That’s…that’s two things.

***
Ferdinand: I’ll kill you! I’ll kill you to death!

***
Bosola (after the murder): Why would you think any of this was a good idea?
Ferdinand: Probably because I’m a dangerous sociopath with a long history of violence.
Bosola: … Oh.
Ferdinand: I don’t understand how you keep forgetting that.

***
Julia (on learning about the murder): You know what? Forget it. I’m not even shocked anymore.
Cardinal: Aww, that’s no fun!
Julia: This has become the norm for you, Cardinal!

***
Ferdinand (while mad): A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice chianti.

***
Doctor (after Ferdinands death): Best thing for him, really. His therapy was going nowhere.

***
Doctor (to Malateste on a visit to the mad Ferdinand): Do not touch the glass. Do not approach the glass. You pass him nothing but soft paper – no pencils or pens. No staples or paperclips in his paper. Use the sliding food carrier, no exceptions. If he attempts to pass you anything, do not accept it. Do you understand me?

***
Bosola (on learning the name of the Duchess husband): Dear diary: Jackpot.

***
Bosola (after the murder of Julia): Why did you kill this person, Cardinal?
Cardinal: I do not kill people. That is…that is my least favorite thing to do.

***
Ferdinand (recruiting Bosola): I’m afraid we don’t have any redeeming features.
Bosola: That doesn’t bother me

***
Bosola: [Stabs Cardinal]
Cardinal: I am murdered

***
Ferdinand (while torturing his sister): RAAAAAAGH! I cannot break her!
Bosola: Is there some problem here?
Ferdinand: Who would ask such a stupid question?! Clearly, there’s a problem here!

Leave a Reply

